No announcement yet.

Source for cast iron or steel drops ...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Source for cast iron or steel drops ...

Well I've been looking for some material for this clapper box. I'm a student and 100 bucks is equall to more than 10 hours of work for me. ("Research Assistants" don't get paid too well these days but at least they don't require us to have hunchbacks ).

Anyway, I'd like to do this as cheap as possible without sacrificing quality. For that reason, I've neglected the idea of piecing the box together. My thought was to look for a drop from an 8" diameter round that is about 3" thick, as opposed to buying a piece of rectangular stock that is 8" by 6" by 3". For some reason it seems cheaper that way.

Anyhow, I found some new gray CI 7" that would put me back about 60 bucks and some new 1018 HR 8" diameter that would cost about 65 bucks. (All minus shipping ) I might be able to make 7" work, I need to take a look.

But does anyone happen to know of or have suggestions for a place that would part with some drops for pretty cheap? I took a look on ebay and they had some 8" aluminum drops, but nothing like what I was looking for.

Thanks!

Walk into a few small machine shops or metal sellers in your area. You will come out with something much cheaper. My local "pusher" sells any size cut or larger order no piece too small and he usually asks me "what will you give me for it" when I pick something up off of his cut off and ends rack.

A little leg work usually pays off. Last time I went into the local machine shop and "visited" a bit with the owner he ended up deciding the pieces he handed me were not worth writing up a ticket. I remember that and several times while at local supply houses I have overheard someone say where can I get this or that made or fixed...I always direct them to said machine shop.
    regards

3t

Comment