First attempt at facing a head.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First attempt at facing a head.

Hi all I am new to this game and today I had my first shot at facing a head.

I used the cheapO 4 cutter face mill that came with the mill. I now understand why people opt for a flycutter.

My first cuts where pretty deep and I ran the machine really slow. I fiddled around and found that flat out was the best speed whilst only removing a bee's pecker of metal. I think it gave an OK finish not great tho.
    I have attached a photo any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Wd-40

Same cutter - high(er) speed and feed but lubricate (plenty!!) with WD-40 or paraffin (kerosene here and UK) - but do clean off the aluminium which will have really stuck to your cutters (due to cutting dry).

Be sure that the mill is properly "trammed" else you will or may get a "step" where the cuts over-lap. This may cause a leak between cylinders, or between water jacket holes or between cylinders and water cavity holes etc.

If this is the case, use a fly-cutter with good rakes and clearances and a rounded nose - and fine hone then edges with a diamond "(cheap)" honing-stick.

Comment

In my (limited) experience here in my home shop, the couple of multi-cutter face mills I have (one of them like you have) the finish is not nearly as good as I am able to get with a fly cutter. I dont doubt that with the proper cutter and inserts a beautiful finish could be had - translated- with enough money! Since I have such good luck with a fly cutter, I,m not likely to pursue finding that 'ideal' face mill.

I use the cheapo brazed carbide lathe cutters after a good crisp edge is put on it with a diamond wheel. I can tell by the change in the "hammering" sound when I need to re-touch the edge on them and when kept sharp, get an almost mirror finish.

And like Tiffe said, use some lube,- kerosene or WD - WD is convenient in the spray can. ---- Hmmm, this IS an aluminum head innit?