Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Worm Gear pillage

Hello everyone

I am thinking about making a rotary table. I was just wondering if anyone knew where I could find a good worm gear?

Like I have said in a previous post I have been able to make an acceptable manual rotab, so I am thinking my next best bet would be to make another one but better.

thanks all

I'm chiming in before HE gets a chance, have you checked his holiness's site, division plates too.

Regards Ian.
    You might not like what I say,but that doesn't mean I'm wrong.

Comment

hello sir

as you can tell by my post count that I am a newb and thusly am un aware of the site with which you speak.

Comment

Sorry, the illustrious Sir John Stevenson, (Did I spell it all correctly John???)

No connection whatsoever, just another dissilusioned fat chewer.

Regards Ian.

(PS. Look on the bottom of one of his postings for the site)

Comment

They aren't hard to make. I have made quite a few including this one. This is 7075 alumimnum, slightly harder than steel. Bronze is a good choice and easy to machine although a bit expensive in the larger sizes. Steel works fine but requires a tool steel hob, not a big issue if you can harden it.

Shown is the wheel and the hob used to cut it.
          Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

hello evan could you please make me one and send it to australia?

Comment

You got mail Michael

Comment

hello chaps

was a good day,

I got a reduction gear box to use as a guts to my rotab. I was thinking of building a box for it and arranging some kind of thrust bearing system for it.

I was thinking that why don't I just make an adapter and bolt the chuck straight onto the output shaft, add a dial to the input shaft and bobs your aunty..

does anyone know if this box could handle the loads placed on it when used beneath a milling machine to cut radii etc?

Just putting it out there......