Cutting a radius, not a sphere

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cutting a radius, not a sphere

Hi to all. This is my first post. I'm in the process of making an endoskeleton arm and I need to make a clean radius for the knuckles. I have tried the Sherline radius cutting tool, but the results are as you would imagine on the lathe: the radius has a beveled circular edge. Since I am a machining novice, I've been unable to figure out making the clean radius for the knuckle. I would appreciate any advice on the calculation theory for making the radius precise in using the milling machine and the rotary table, or any other method. This is escaping me. By the way, I am not set up for CNC.

[IMG][/IMG]

Do you have a mill?

I don't think you can make that on a lathe - unless you put an end mill in the chuck and a pivot pin for the part in the tool post.

You'd normally do that on a mill with a rounding off jig or a rotary table.

The jig is just a vertical pin that the part can pivot on and two stops.

Comment

There's an easy way to do this.
      Drill the hole in your part first.
      Then place the part in a vise, on your mill, with a pin thru the hole.
      Now just endmill or facemill the part, rotating it after every pass to achive your desired radius.
      Raise or lower the table to get the desired radius.

Comment

End rounding is usually done on a pin like KidZima showed. I like to do mine with my disc sander as opposed to the mill, but either will work.

Be careful!

Best,

BW
        ---------------------------------------------------

http://www.cnccookbook.com/index.htm
        Try G-Wizard Machinist's Calculator for free:
        http://www.cnccookbook.com/CCGWizard.html

Comment

I remember why I don't bother posting on this board - it's like I said nothing at all, next person says the same thing I said.

Comment

There's nothing wrong with identical answers.