Silver Solder?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Silver Solder?

I've been able to do 2.25"x 8tpi internal threads before on my 11" Logan for cast iron backplates, but man, they were a bear. You guys eventually got me thru it, but now I'm wanting some internal 1"x8 tpi which I'm thinking is even harder. The 1" boring bar that got me thru before ain't gonna fit for one thing. So I thought of a way to cheat.

Since 1"x8 tpi is a standard thread I got a me plain old zinc nut and turned it down to fit into a pocket in the part I want the threads in. Here's a pic of both parts.

And here's a pic of them together.

I'm thinking silver solder would be a nice clean way to attach them, but since I've never done that before how would I know?

The bigger part is 1018, 2.125" in dia, and the threads are whatever they make standard zinc plated nuts out of.

I have a OA torch. Propane is also an option. I could very easily be persuaded into buying a hot plate if that would work. Experience wise I've soldered copper pipe and electrical stuff. Soldered lugs on a long set of battery cables once with the OA.

Any advice on silver solder methods and materials, or alternative attachment methods is welcome. There's a distinct possibilty this is another one of my crackpot ideas, and, if that's the case, I'd appreciate knowing that!

Thanx for any help.

SP

Personally, I would smear some Loctite 609 retaining compound on it and call it a day.

http://www.henkelna.com/cps/rde/xchg...UID=0000000HWO

Comment

I've done a similar operation, but sweating a sleeve on a larger diameter that I'd ruined by turning undersize. My first try with brazing compound didn't work well because the stuff didn't wick into the crack well and I couldn't get the whole thing up to heat at the same time.