how did they machine it.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how did they machine it.

Took mi pillar drill apart, an old brit fobco, and noticed that the shaft the driven pulley fits on above the quill has a hole through it with a key, no problem, but on closer inspection what I thought was a hole with a key slot and a key isnt, its all one piece, fobco have machined a hole with a integral key protrusion.
    I've tried to remove what I thought was the key and its deffo one piece.
    How did they machine that one out then.
    Build it, bodge it, but dont buy it.

Well, hmmm.

It's a degenerate splined hole, of course...
    At home, one could furnace braze the key in place.
    One could imagine a special broach to do such a thing.
    If this were some sort of alloy rather than cast iron, it could be die-cast.

- Bart
    Bart Smaalders
    http://smaalders.net/barts

Comment

They probably broached it.

Comment

I wondered about a broach, I have little experience of broaching, 'cept for using a rotor broach for bashing big holes in concrete flooring to put machine mounts in.

Comment

It could have been made on a shaper or a slotter, too. Several of my books show rotary-table like devices for standard shapers for doing splined holes, and of course most slotters have such a table built in. Might be more likely than a big broach.

Doc.
          Doc's Machine. (Probably not what you expect.)

Comment

So if you were using a slotter then, you'd drill a smaller hole, and using the slotters cutter and the rotary head slot out the hole bigger, but skip the bit where you'd want the key to be, that makes sense, fobco probably had a slotter with auto feed and adjustable limit switches for semi auto operation.