Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seeking help setting up a workpiece

Hello all,

I am a hobbiest and relatively new to machining. I have been working on my 7x10 desktop lathe learning the basics (turning/facing/threading operations) all on pretty small aluminum stock. I have turned larger pieces on an engine lathe while I was a student but now i am looking to turn a 2" diameter by 4" length piece of aluminum on my lathe. I currently have a 3" auto centering 3 jaw chuck and I am having trouble getting the workpiece trued in the chuck. What is a good procedure for making sure the piece is straight and centered, or do I really need to get a 4 jaw chuck OR is this much more of an advanced level project than I am thinking.

Thank you in advance

A 3-jaw can only go so far to center work unless you try to shim each jaw. You really need a 4-jaw independent chuck to center or re-center pieces. If you continue to use the 3-jaw do not remove the workpiece any sooner than you have to unless you mark where a particular jaw was, otherwise it will no longer be centered.

Lots of other posts regarding this matter on this forum a quick search should turn them up for you.

Make sure you support the tail end of that larger piece ...
    "Work hard. Tell everyone everything you know. Close a deal with a handshake. Have fun!"

-- Harold "Doc" Edgerton

Comment

cool, thank you for the reply thats exactly what i was looking to learn
      I'll give that search a try and see whats already been said too

Comment

Even a nice true chuck can hold a piece a bit off kilter so it can wobble a bit.
        Here's a little tool I made to help in centering workpieces in the three-jaw chuck. It's a simple roller that I can move inward to touch the work and nudge it to center while turning the chuck by hand or very slowly under power with the jaws tightened lightly:

Once the piece runs true, I tighten the jaws and I'm ready to go.

And, here's the little video that inspired me: