Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

OT: Other than Toyota who makes a good car?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT: Other than Toyota who makes a good car?

I've been buying Toyotas (not exclusively Toyotas) since 1978. I think they make a really nice, reliable car. We bought our 6th new Toyota a few months ago.

To make a long story short I've been dealing with a total CLUSTER FU(% at Toyota Financial Services for over 2 weeks now. We did absolutely nothing wrong. They hosed up some IT conversion of our account and those of who knows how many other customers. Good luck to anyone else affected. Their screw up *may* be corrected by the end of this week but I'm not holding my breath. They admit it's all their fault and all I keep hearing is, "I've never seen anything like this happen before." They're tripping all over their tongues apologizing but it's not enough.

Who else makes a nice, reliable car? I'm thinking about switching to Honda or maybe even Volkswagen if I can find a VW that's highly rated by Consumer Reports magazine.

What I'd really like to find is a nice car that has a good diesel engine.

My wife would like to look at the Honda CRV. The CRV with the diesel engine is supposed to be extremely popular in Europe and a heck of a good vehicle but Honda won't introduce the diesel version here. They were supposed to for 2010 but that's been stopped.

Any good recommendations?

Thanks,
    Dan

Honestly, you can get a good deal on a new "American-made" car these days. Chevy and Ford have been consistently rated well these last few years in terms of quality. I'm sure some of their vehicles are still lemons, but it might be worth checking out.

I know the local police department bought up a bunch of Cobalts a few years ago and they've been very happy with their performance and reliability (or at least that is the word from one officer).