Finally a Drill Press Tool Gloat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finally a Drill Press Tool Gloat

I have been looking for a Drill Press for two years. I have a bench top crappy HF drill press that I use when needed. Anyway I finally hit pay dirt on craigs list. It was made for Sears nice heavy duty with two tables and built in light. The motor is a 1/2 HP and can be wired for 120v or 220v. The speed range is 380 to 8550. Only thing that worries me is the little belt. I snapped a few pics with my cell phone.

Drill head with tap chart

Base with two tables

Speed Chart for belts

Nice find! Not to worry, I have been using a small belt Craftsman DP for over thirty years and have replaced the belt only one time.

Gayle Hopson
    GHop

Comment

I had one a while ago. Wanted a lower low end for WWing, but the craftsman was very smooth and had .001 runout. Think it had a light that was handy without another plug. No problem with the belt.

Rich

Comment

I've been using mine since 1978, and it's still got the original belt.

I installed a foot switch in parallel with the original switch to free up a hand. It's a very useful addition.

Does the extra table tilt?

Roger
        Any products mentioned in my posts have been endorsed by their manufacturer.

Comment

Nice! It's very hard to find a decent drill press anymore...
          "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did."

Comment

Originally posted by winchman
            Does the extra table tilt?
            Roger
            Yes the extra table has pin you pull out and then can adjust the angle of the table. I think I might put a small vice on that one.

Comment

Originally posted by lazlo
              Nice! It's very hard to find a decent drill press anymore...