dovetail angles

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dovetail angles

This is probably pretty straightforward, but it's worth discussing anyway. If you were making a slide of some kind, and were able to choose what angle to put on the dovetails, what factors would you consider in making that choice?

Here's a short list of scenarios-
    the slide would experience mainly side forces
    the slide would experience mainly downward forces
    the slide would see upward forces
    the slide would see both side and tilt forces

The questions arise when you consider how to keep play to a minimum in the various possible relative motions between parts, while at the same time keeping friction to a minimum. Another part is the ability to make the dovetail accurately in the first place, this depending on the available cutters and the ability of the machine to handle that without damaging it. How much this affects the choice of dovetail angle- I'm not experienced enough to know.

In general, I see two angles in use, one is 45 degrees, the other is 30 degrees. From my perspective, I see the shallower angle better able to keep a slide positioned when the force is sideways against it, and the 45 degree angle better to keep a slide from lifting off its base with vertical forces being applied. I also see the 45 degree angle making the sliding action more friction prone.

When you add in gibs, it gets a bit more complicated. Another factor to consider is whether the application is to adjust the slide then secure it, or whether it should be free to move at all times by the turn of a dial.

Anyone care to elaborate on this topic, or point to a suitable read on the subject? I'm sure many of us would find that interesting.
    I seldom do anything within the scope of logical reason and calculated cost/benefit, etc- I'm following my passion-

45 degree, keep it simple.

I used to fix screw machines that made parts in seconds, no need to reinvent the wheel.

Comment