so how do I wire 220

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• so how do I wire 220

I have 4 wire 220 coming out and I need to wire it to 3 wire milling machine. So where does the ground go, So I ran the wire from the (wall 4wire) to where the mill is, and put a box in for the receptacle that is where iam at now

Are you in the United States? If so, there are two hot wires in your set of four. They should be Red and Black, or maybe some other color (but NOT green, thats only for ground). The other two wires are neutral (white) and ground (green). Wire the two hot wires to the L1 and L2 connections on your machine, and the white to the neutral of your machine. Connect the ground to the frame of the machine, usually there is a green screw to do that with, marked with a ground symbol.

This assumes your machine is a single phase, not a three phase machine.

Steve

Comment

3 wire

I am not a pro. but I think you should have 1 ground and 2 hot. Each hot wire should have 110V The ground should be green it hooks to the green screw on the reciprocal the two hot wires would be black & white or red. The fourth wire would be bare copper hook it the the reciprocal box.

Like I say I am not a pro. Wait for other post to make sure I am not telling you wrong.
      Last edited by Machinist-Guide; 12-24-2009, 11:09 AM.
      Visit my site for machinist videos free charts & more

Machinist Classifieds Free Listing

Comment

Ground goes to the green wire on your mill, the 'white' neutral wire from the panel is ignored if your mill is indeed 240v and only has 3 wires.
        Play Brutal Nature, Black Moons free to play highly realistic voxel sandbox game.

Comment

oopps I am in the usa

Iam in ca. Brett

Comment

Where are you located , and what kind of machine do you have ?
            Post a picture of the data tag from the motor you want to hook up.