Lathemaster versus Sherline

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lathemaster versus Sherline

Hey guys. I'm really up in the air on which of these routes to take, either the Sherline 4400 or the Lathemaster 9x30.

Most of what I'll be turning are custom bushings ranging from 1/4" to 1-1/2", and some small r/c parts. The spindle hole and additional capacity from the lathemaster are very attractive.

Is the quality of one of these greater than the other? I like what I read about the support on the lathemaster, so I would not be buying anything from HF.

Thanks.

Had a Lathemaster for about 5 years and it & Bob served me well. Gr8 lathe only reason I sold was I needed a much larger bore, I was sorry to see it go.
    good luck,
    ed
    ps I even got my money back when I sold it.

Comment

I have a lathemaster 8" and a Taig lathe.

I use both all the time. Wouldn't want to be without either. I love my taig with the soft jaws. The lathemaster is not special beyond good customer service from Bob. Yesterday smoke started to pour out of the 8". The bus bar inside is not up to snuff and started to melt. I caught it before the mains shorted together. Replaced it with wire ties.
      I don't care for the spindle on the Lathemaster in regards to how the chucks mount. Rather have threaded or cam lock.
      Bigger is almost always better, but I do enjoy the accuracy of my Taig for small stuff. I guess it has more to do with the soft jaws than anything else...

Comment

I have lathes from the Sherline up to a 13x30. You will hear it said over and over again that bigger is better when you're chosing a lathe. It's quite true and it is all about mass. The heavier machine you get, in general, the less you will deal with chatter, vibrations, finishes, etc. I cannot comment on the Lathemaster but will on the Sherline and larger.