Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newby-subscribe to which?

Hi,

I'm somewhat new to machining and find that I have a growing hunger for info relating to machining. I've recently purchased a 9 inch South Bend lathe and have been out in the shop ever since.

My question to those who are experienced in the machining industry or hobby end, "Which would be the most appropriate publication for a beginner, Home Shop Machinist or Machinist's Workshop". I want to subscribe to both but, money is tight and I have only reviewed one old issue of HSM that I purchased on Ebay. Is Machinist's Workshop a more advanced magazine?

Any recommendations?

Any info will be greatly appreciated,

Thank You for reading this post,

John Bobeda

I think HSM, probably. I would also suggest you see if you can find a few books. My all-time favorite lathe book is "The Amateur's Lathe," By L.H. Sparey. It's English and may be hard to find, but I think it's still in print.

Closer to home, get South Bend's "How to Run a Lathe" from Lindsay Publications. They have a lot of other machining books as well. I've personally found that I don't get a lot out of their older machining book reprints, but you may find some of them interesting.

If you can find a local club in your area, or fellow metalworker (preferably one who knows more than you do), join or make the connection. When I started out I was totally on my own, and it all got a WHOLE lot easier when I hooked up with some other people and could learn from them.
    ----------
    Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
    Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
    There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
    Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
    Don't own anything you have to feed or paint. - Hood River Blackie

Comment