Surface Grinding Wheels

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surface Grinding Wheels

I recently purchased a 7", 3/4 hp surface grinder for home shop use. Based on advice from this forum, I also purchased four additional wheel hubs in order to mount a selection of wheels. I have no experience or training in surface grinding. Grinding will be primarily on small, mild steel pieces, but may include HSS, aluminum (6061), grey cast iron and brass. I don't expect mirror finishes will be required.

Ignoring the fact the unit comes with one wheel, what four wheels would make up a versatile selection for my home shop use??

Fred

What Grinder followed You home? I know You've been looking for one for a while.
    All I have is white Norton wheels, general purpose. I've never ground alum. or brass, but I have ground rubber.
    Post a pic or two Fred, You know the drill .

Steve

Comment

For hardened steels, Norton 38A, 46 or 60 grit,h hardness
      for mild steels Norton 32A, 46 or 60 grit, j hardness
      for the nonferrous. Norton 86C 46 or 60 grit, j or k hardness
      Maybe a Diamond wheel for tungsten carbide?
      Better yet, Let Evan guide you. His wife is in the biz. Maybe SGs would be more versatile.

Comment

Fred, hope you don't mind my butting in with a question.

Been wanting a SG for years, just bought one a week ago, not able to get it picked up as yet, anxious to get it here, up and running. A manual B&S No.2 6x18

My question, there is a like new diamond wheel on it but some one had gouged a perpendicular slot across the face about 1/8" wide with a fixture that was on it.

Is the wheel still usable or just cause for problems?

Comment