Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rolling sheet steel

newbie here..
    I want to roll some 1/8" sheet steel ( mild and 304 stainless). 18" by 16" in dia. tube.
    What do I need, and what is it called?

Many sheet metal shops can do it for you but the 1/8" SS will be hard to bend and require a heavy duty roller to do it. A shop could cut them and bend them faster, easier and bettter looking than you can at home.
    It's only ink and paper

Comment

Slip rolls
      gvasale

Comment

the tool is called a sheet metal roll.

For thinner sheet, there are manual rolls, like these-

this is a set of 36" wide, Tennsmith rolls that are rated at 22 gage (.031", or approximately 1/32") at full width rolling.

But for 1/8", and especially for 1/8" stainless, you need power rolls.

I have a set of 12 gage power rolls, which weigh about 1500lbs, use a 3 hp 3 phase motor, and cost new over 5 grand, almost ten years ago- and they are really too small for 1/8" stainless, although I do use them for that occasionally.

48" wide x 12 gage rolls- as you can see, they are not small. This is a Turkish machine, of decent but not stellar quality. Expect to pay $15,000 to $25,000 new for an american machine.
        This link is to new, but relatively cheap, import machines-
        http://www.coletuve.com/sheet_and_pl...nch_type_.html
        They have a 4' x 1/4" machine on sale for $12,600 right now, which would do your job, assuming its no wider than 4 feet.

For stainless steel, the rule of thumb is to derate the machine by 2 gages- 1/8" is 11 gage, so you would need a 9 gage roll to do the stainless, which doesnt really exist, but most machines that would do this comfortably are going to be rated at 3/16"

So unless you are planning on doing this on an ongoing basis, and there is a paying job involved, its highly unlikely you will want to buy a roll to do this.

I would second the idea of finding a local sheet metal shop and paying them to do it.

Comment