I need Help fixing my Bridgeport Mill

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need Help fixing my Bridgeport Mill

Today I was turning the crank, milling a part when all of a sudden the table stopped moving. The crank turns but the table does not move IN and OUT. The left/right still works fine. Something inside has broken, worn out or come loose?????

I can grab the table with both hands and pull it forward all the way to the front of the machine. I can push it by hand all the way to the back of the machine. It slides back and forth and the handle does not move and there is no sound of the threads on the screw dragging on anything. This machine has a 48" table, it also has a variable speed head.

Is there an online manual?

Does anyone have an idea what happened?

How do I get this apart to fix it?

Where can I buy parts?
    Last edited by gary350; 03-11-2010, 04:25 PM.

I'm no expert Gary, but how long can you turn that handle for? forever?
    Sounds to me like the key broke. . . take the nut off of the end of your
    handle and check -- it might be a little woodruff key, I don't remember.

-Tony

Comment

I can't believe that owner's of Bridgeports still don't know how to download the free manuals from the factory.

http://kneemills.com/index.asp?html=Documentation

I have a different type of BP than most folks (it used to be a "Line-A-Mill") so my machine probably is different from yours (but then again, you don't say what type of BP you have), but I have shaft couplers between the handle shafts and the actual leadscrews. Look first at your "X" axis, since you can crank the table to the extreme right and look underneath. If you have a shaft coupler, then maybe that's the problem with your "Y" axis. I had that happen once to me. I do believe that Series 1 BP's have a continuous leadscrew where the handle attaches to the end, but again, we don't know what kind of BP you have.
      Last edited by Jim Caudill; 03-11-2010, 04:12 PM.

Comment