aluminum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• aluminum

I'm a beginner machinist in training and have a couple of questions.I want to know at what speed should you mill aluminum for a smooth finish ,also does this speed apply to all cutting operations? like using a boring head or a fly cutter?.Thanks for any help you can give.Neil.

Fast. It does depend on the alloy, a lot. Al can be machined dry with very good results if it is a high silicon alloy like 2024. 6061 is the most common alloy and it is very machinable. It is hard to go too fast in terms of SFM with a SHARP tool and high positive rake. Hone your tools with an Arkansas oil stone and never use them on steel. Keep a seperate set of tools just for Al.
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

What Evan said.... I'd add that some of the softer alloys are quite "gummy" and tend to weld to the tool. For those, some kind of cutting fluid helps a lot. Kerosene works well, but if it gets hot enough to smoke try not to inhale too much of the fumes; it will give you a headache.

----------
      Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
      Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
      Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
      There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
      Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
      Don't own anything you have to feed or paint. - Hood River Blackie

Comment

By far the best cutting lube for Al is 100% ethyl alcohol. Convince your pharmacist that you aren't going to drink it.
        Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

What's been said about sharp, rake and gummy.... I like the idea of keeping a separate set of cutters just for aluminum and I will start doing that.