Mill tooling question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mill tooling question

Guys I'm a newbie and would appreciate if some of you more experienced than me could please be specific in recommending mill tooling to remove the top off of a 12" long piece of 1" x 2" X.125 wall rectangular steel tube. thanks

Stan,
    What is it you want to end up with a channel?

Comment

Ken that is correct. thanks

Comment

Couple ways,
        If the 1" comes off you could band saw it.

Or

Clamp it to the mill bed, don't use a vise,, you can use a 2-3 or 4 flute cutter, what ever you have 1/4" or larger, cut full depth to area to be removed. leave a little on the sided for a finish pass and then a final pass accross the top to level channel legs.

If you have carbide cutters, perfect, quality HSS is good, the tin coated Harbor Freight set, well then, they are better then nothing

You are likely going to get some chatter so take it slow.

Ken

Comment

Good instructions Ken, you explained it so I understand everything you said, much appreciated friend.

Comment

You know that's going to spring out on you when you cut one of the walls off right?

Comment

Thanks Jim, I have never done this before, I'll have to leave end pieces to hold the tube together untill I get the work done.

Comment

I might be inclined to use a slitting saw. Clamp piece to mill table, saw one side (good idea to leave a bit at the ends), flip over, saw the other side.
                ----------
                Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
                Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
                Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
                There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
                Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.