Fitting chuck back plate?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fitting chuck back plate?

I know this is a newbie question, but what can I say, I am a newbie. I am new to machining and recently got my first lathe. It is an Atlas 10F. It is in really good shape except the chuck jaws are bad. Sense the chuck looked original means it is probably 50+ years old so I purchased a new plain back chuck and back plate for it but I have a question before I fit it. The backplate is threaded for my spindle but the threads don't start until .5" into the plate. This means that when the backplate bottoms onto the shoulder of the spindle only about .5" engaged in the thread. My question is should I have the shoulder of the backplate turned down or is that enough engagement on the spindle threads?

I would leave it as it is. With a 8tpi nose thread half an inch of engagement still gives you 4 threads. It's about what my Atlas 10 was engaging on too.

When you fit the plate to turn the register for the chuck, don't cut the step deeper than necessary to locate the back of the chuck, that way if you over-do it you'll have enough on the thickness for a second go.
    Peter - novice home machinist, modern motorcycle enthusiast.

Denford Viceroy 280 Synchro (11 x 24)
    Herbert 0V adapted to R8 by 'Sir John'.
    Monarch 10EE 1942

Comment

I had the same issue with a chuck backplate I bought for my South Bend 10K. Those threaded plates have to fit every spindle nose on every lathe ever made with that size spindle, so on any given lathe they may leave something to be desired. I turned off the excess on mine, and consider it an improvement. (I also totally bored out the thread, fitted a plug, and re-threaded it to a closer tolerance too, but that may have been a bit much.)