Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with cross-drilling 316 SS

Noobie time
    Okay, I have very little experience with 316 SS. I am making approx. 30 custom bolts that have a precision 5/16" cross-hole in the head. Stock began as 1/2" rod with a dual 316/316L spec. Parting off in the lathe went without a hitch. Same with facing and roughing threaded portion to size. My lathe tooling is all Tin-coated carbide inserts.

I am having trouble with the cross-hole. I burned up both my HSS-Co drills and also my #2 and #3 center drill. I was using the latter as a spotting drill. So before I blow money on some carbide drills, I would like to know what I'm doing wrong with my HSS and HSS-Co. i.e. is it a speed/feed issue, order of operation, etc. I seem to remember that 316 SS work-hardens fairly easily. Is that the problem? Here is what I was doing:

* Hold workpiece in a collet block perpendicular to milling spindle.
    * Centered in both axis for correct location on bolt head
    * Spot with #2 HSS center drill, 850rpm, downfeed by hand
    * Drill with 9/32" screw-length HSS-Co drill, 850rpm, see below for feeds
    * Finish with 5/16" HSS reamer, 250rpm, .01" feed

A few notes... I first began with using oil cutting fluid when drilling. I then switched to a water-based misting coolant system. The drills were clearly getting too hot. I tried various different feeds---my mill has power downfeeds of .01, .007 and .0047". The middle feed seemed to work well for the main body, but would burn up on breaking through the back of the workpiece. I ended up doing by hand and using appropriate pressure to keep a solid-string chip to eject from the flutes. This is what I usually use on mild steel and seems to give the best performance. Perhaps stainless is different, however.