Square Drive Screws

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Square Drive Screws

For those of you who don't know, square drive wood screws are the greatest thing since sliced bread.

What I don't know is why they aren't more popular.

Advantages:

No "cam-out" of driver means I can easily drive even large, coarse thread screws through hardwoods (or soft!) with no pilot hole and with minimal effort on my part.

Drivers are readily available and, in my experience, last at least three times longer than the same brand of phillips (on account of the fact that the phillips tend to slip and chew themselves up)

The cost the same as phillips head screws.

I've been using them for the last five years and I'm always surprised that other people don't use them. The only disadvantage is that they are not as readily available, suggesting a low demand.

Why the low demand? They're perfect for wood screws where over-torquing is not an issue.

I put thousands of 2" square drive screws in my 400 sq. ft. deck. Many times the tool spun in the head. When it does you throw away the screw and the driver. I went through a lot of drivers installing that deck. I'm quite certain Phillips head screws would have been far worse.

Comment

I still use square drive and philups head drivers after they spin in a few screws. they get a little striped but still work fine with care.

That said,I think philups get a bad rap due to user error
      yes thats right, USER ERROR.
      while you can drive a philups with the wrong size, and indeed some 'fits all' screwdrivers exist, philups is MUCH more secure when you use the precise right size bit for it then the wrong size that 'kinda works'
      Lots of people think because it 'kinda works' it must be the right size. its not.
      Play Brutal Nature, Black Moons free to play highly realistic voxel sandbox game.

Comment

The interesting thing is that Phillips screws were originally designed to slip.