Tool post grinder rookie question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tool post grinder rookie question

Does anyone know off-hand what the maximum safe rpm is for a 4" grinding wheel? I am planning on building the grinder that was featured in the HSM magazine back in '99. I have ordered the archived magazine but have to wait a few weeks to get it. I have looked at a few vendor websites and they do not specify. My concern is that I am going to power the grinder with a trim router that turns 25,000 rpm. Obviously I am going to have to gear that down but how much?

If anyone has any input, I would be glad to receive it. I'm still pretty new at this.

Thanks.

One of my 3 inch cutoff discs says 13,500 rpm max. I never spin them that fast, not even close. A 4 inch similar disc would probably have a rating of 10,000 rpm. That's not a grinding wheel though- you'd be best to look into it yourself just so you know the published figure for the wheel you would be using. Still, I'd run it slower anyway.

Many grinders turn at 3000 rpm or so, and with 8 inch wheels. If that is safe for an 8 inch wheel, then a 4 inch wheel would probably be within the safety factor at 5000 rpm. Maybe check out the optimum surface feet per minute for the wheel you'd want to use, and calculate rpm based on that.

The other thing that concerns me is your choice of motor. You might be better off starting with a slower speed motor so you don't have to gear it down. That saves having to come up with a reliable reduction drive that can handle the input rpm. Other than that, I'd say you need at least a 5-1 reduction.
    Last edited by darryl; 05-20-2010, 04:21 PM.
    I seldom do anything within the scope of logical reason and calculated cost/benefit, etc- I'm following my passion-

Comment