Granite Surface Plate Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Granite Surface Plate Advice

I'm looking at purchasing a surface plate from Enco and wanted to get some thoughts on grade A vs grade B. The site says that the tolerance for Grade A is .0001 and Grade B is .0003. I'm a hobbyist so I figure grade B is good enough for most any application I do. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

plate

Get the best and biggest plate that you can afford, then there are no second thoughts.

Comment

That certainly would be the motto I have lived by for a long time . The choice is between a 12x18x3 grade A or a 18x24x3 grade B. I'm leaning towards the grade B since the tolerance isn't too much different and I get twice the plate.

Comment

Lets put this more into perspective,

Grade B = Toolroom grade.
        Grade A = Inspection grade.
        Grade AA = Lab grade.

There are very few people on this board that would ever need anything better than a Toolroom B grade.
        I have a Toolroom grade Starrett Crystal pink, that I have had for over 25 years now, it was relapped about 3 years ago to an inspection grade plate. The company I work for re lapped all the plates in the plant, mine worked fine for a B grade for them for many years, the company just insisted on spending money, who was I to turn it down.
        Just for more info, Starrett pink granite plates are harder than black granite. They have a higher quartz content so they will also last longer as far as being flat and such.

Comment

Keep in mind the bigger one weighs twice as much as the smaller one. If I recall correctly, my 12x18x3 weighs more than 70 lbs. so the bigger one would weigh over almost 150 lbs.

When I bought mine, I planned on keeping it under the bench and just pull it out when needed. HAH! I forgot how much 70 lbs. is so I made a stand for it. My back thanks me for it every time I use it. Oh yeah, B grade is fine for my HSM use.
          Milton