Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hi Everyone, new member here, lots of questions.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi Everyone, new member here, lots of questions.

Hi Everybody,

I just wanted to stop by in introduce myself. I'm a relative newb to machining. I took a metal shop class in high school and always wanted to get more involved. I picked up a 7x10 mini-lathe a few years ago and have made a few little items with it.

My biggest problem so far seems to be wearing out HSS lathe bits and not really knowing how to sharpen them again. That and the incredibly short working area on the 7x10. Oh, yeah, and wearing out drill bits on mild steel. I've got to learn how to sharpen those too. So much to learn.

Last minute insert: I just went out to the shed and replaced the stock grinder wheel with a "green" wheel and found that my new green wheel has these awful little plastic hub adaptors. When installed, they slide out to the side (under the domed washers) and the wheel wobbles like crazy. Would it be a good idea to make an aluminum hub adaptor on the lathe?

I just discovered this message board and for the last few days I've been going through the "Shop Made Tools" thread. Wow, what a bunch of amazing devices you guys have come up with.

My next project is going to be a lathe milling attachment, the one that's floating around the net in PDF form from the June 1958 issue of Science and Mechanics.

http://www.vintageprojects.com/machi...tach-plans.pdf

I love the way the author takes advantage of the dimensions of CRS to make a milling attachment without requiring the use of a mill.

I was hoping to get some advice from you guys before I get too far into this. Is there anything about that project that jumps out a you as being a bad idea? Does any advice come to mind?