My Entry for disgusting shop story of the day

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Entry for disgusting shop story of the day

I have one of those misters with gallon jug of water based coolant tucked away in the column of the mill. I'm just a hobby machinist and this being spring I haven't touched the mill in a couple months.
    So I go to make a couple parts this morning and something is smelling bad, I'm thinking the coolant got yucky but I have just a couple little parts to make and I just kept going. It gets worse and worse and I just kinda tough it out as I have everything setup and its going well otherwise. (You know how that goes).
    After I am all done I go to clean out the coolant jug and there is what's left of a dead mouse floating in it. So I have rotten mouse mist all over me, the mill and the shop.
    I think I am done for the day.

And I bet this esoteric mixture of dead-mouse funk and machine coolant gave you the best damn surface finish that you've ever seen. Made that endmill slice through the material like you were carving butter!

This product has been determined by the state of California to cause permanent irreversible death. This statement may or may not be recognized as valid by all states.
    Heirs of an old war/that's what we've become Inheriting troubles I'm mentally numb
    Plastic Operators Dot Com

Comment

mouse coolant. Yeah, I guess that would make me leave the shop too. Clean it up tomorrow. I hope you tossed the coolant out and threw the jug away.
      It's only ink and paper

Comment

I hope we can all agree that SkyMoCo has won and that there will not be any attempts to top his story.
        Mike

My Dad always said, "If you want people to do things for you on the farm, you have to buy a machine they can sit on that does most of the work."

Comment