Differences - SB 9" versus 16"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Differences - SB 9" versus 16"

Somebodys gonna call me stupid, but I checked it, and it's true. Now, I am a newbie, but hear me out. Big question is, "why is this so?" When I indicate on the cross or compound dial on my 16" SB a full inch, it only actually moves the cross or compound 0.500. When I indicate on the cross or compound dial on my 9" tool-room, it moves it the true indicated amount. Found it out when I was doing my first single pointing on the 16", a half inch shaft @ 28 TPI. At first, I could not figure out why, when I dialed in a total diameter reduction of .020", it was only taking off 0.010". Hmmm... Then I cranked the cross a full indicated 1.00". Only moved the cross 0.500! Them smart guys back in 1959! I only wish someone had told me! Pretty cool anyway! OK, now "why?"

Southbend 16

So when you're turning a diameter you can dial in the exact amount you want the diameter reduced without dividing by two. I wish my lathe was like that.
    The other way, you dial the amount you want to reduce the radius. Two radii equal one diameter.

Comment

The lathe that moves the cross slide a full inch USED to be called the American type. The slide that moves half the distance was called the Continental type. It is easier to use,as it eliminates the need to divide the distance you need to move by 1/2. My HLVH is the Continental type.

My terminology dates from the 1950's,and may have changed.

Comment

Direct reading dials is what I have heard them called. My Monarch has them too. But I dont look at them with a DRO...

Comment

post deleted
          Last edited by J. Randall; 06-30-2010, 01:03 AM.

Comment