X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Herb W
    • Mar 2002

Installing a planer

After much determined effort, I've cleared enough shop floor space for the planer.

If you're wondering what planer I'm talking about, see "very old metal planer" - third hand forum.

I have no previous planer experience so I'm looking for advice re setting it up.

To avoid doing harm to the machine and to do accurate work, I presume it's quite important to level it properly.

Dug through my books and did find some procedures for levelling planers, but I'd still like to ask for opinions here re preferred methods...

This looks to be a typical old line shaft planer. 15" x 50" (work area) table. Four cast legs...weighs probably about 2500lbs.

edit: Forgot to mention, the shop has a decent concrete floor - there won't be any cracks within the machine's footprint.

[This message has been edited by Herb W (edited 11-06-2003).]
  • Al Messer
    • Jun 2002

I would say to treat it like leveling a lathe: level it lengthwise, crosswise and diagonally, shimming under the legs where necessary. You will send us some pictures later when you have time?

Comment

• Herb W
      • Mar 2002

Thanks Al,
      The important thing, I presume, is to make sure that there's no twist in the bed. Shouldn't be too hard seeing that it only has 4 legs. The hulking big planers must be much more of a challenge to set up.

I will post some pictures...just have to take the time to learn how

Comment

• metal mite
        • Feb 2002

What's it have?
        Vee ways?
        Most of that era are built that way.

If so, put precision machined cylinders in the vees, a ground bar across the cylinders and a precision level on the bar/parallel.
        Don't mix up the pins and bar position, end to end, or you may chase your tail.
        Place them in the same relitive positions end to end on the planer.

Try to use a less worn area of the ways for the leveling op. if you can.
        Get us pictures.

mite