Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Machinisms out in public.

[This message has been edited by pgmrdan (edited 03-19-2004).]

Well, my dad always used to call a spray paint can a "spray bomb". Probably not a good thing to say anymore. Also if you are getting on a plane and see your buddy Jack you shouldn't yell out "HI JACK".

Asking for a portable cable ferrule swager is guaranteed to produce a blank stare.

[This message has been edited by Evan (edited 12-13-2003).]
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

pgmrdan. I used to go to an Ace Hardware store for off the shelf fasteners, One day I went there first to see if they had some 5mm button head allen screws. I was told there wasn't such animal, because if there was they would have em.
      he then asked what I wanted them for.
      "Well. I'm a rocket scientist............." He's avoided me ever since.LOL

Comment

The thing that gets me is when I ask someone for a particular part or piece and the first thing they say is "What's it for?" It's almost never for what it was intended for and if I tell them "I'm building a German Equatorial Mount" then they are hopelessly lost for good. What the hell does it matter what it is for?

Comment

I recall going into a good competent auto parts store for two feet of 1/32 plant fiber gasket material off the roll. The guy gave me a blank stare and came out with "Make and model".

There's many uses for automotive parts in places where their designers had no intention of use. I made several lapidery thingys from disk brakes and there's been many a fine tool reforged from leaf strings. The single bearing front wheel holds an attraction for me. Surely there has to be a use for a bearing that both supports a load and resists over-turning moments.

Comment