Toolholder to high, How to correct?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Toolholder to high, How to correct?

I just bought this Aloris AXA-22 toolholder, My hope was that it would help doing chamfers and such without moving the compound. I spent a lot of money on this and the inserts, and thought I researched it well but it sits to high...

I use plenty of other AXA toolholders without a problem., the lathe is a Clausing 4900 series with a 10" swing.

Very much a newbie here so take it easy on me!

I'm assuming the toolholder is all the way down, so couldn't you just mill a little off the bottom of it? That would give you the extra room to move the toolholder down farther. Or maybe machine a spacer for the toolpost? Otherwise return for a different model.

Comment

That's an interesting looking tool. I would also suggest just milling a bit off the bottom, but only off the portion with the dovetails, since it doesn't look like you have much meat under the part with the insert (I assume that indexes to different positions) Anyway, mill away anything that sits on the compound and leave everything else. The tool holder may be hard or it may be soft, so you might want to start off with an end mill you aren't emotionally invested in
      Stuart de Haro

Comment

Sometimes it is hard to judge measurements from a picture but what if you use the same size insert but in a thinner height? They are available in several different thicknesses, the one in the pic seems very thick.

Alternately, you could remove some material from the bottom of the holder to allow it to go lower, it looks like you would need to put a longer adjustment screw in also.

Comment

Unfortunately your research didn't include looking at the key dimensions shown on the Aloris site.

http://www.aloris.com/catalog/aloris_p10-11.pdf

However all is not lost as all that should be required is to take the necessary amount off of the bottom of the tool holder.