Off-center turning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Off-center turning

Poster Westline has some images showing a fairly substantial (?) off-center rotating mass mounted in a lathe chuck:

http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/sho...39202&page=112

That doesn't seem to have been a problem for him - but what are some rough guidelines of speed and mass in off-center turning (beyond: keep it small; keep it slow)?

I've no experience to draw on, and would prefer not to learn the hard way

DO NOT duplicate that set up, its a widow maker.

If you need to turn off center use a 4 (independent) jaw chuck or a removeable jaw chuck with custom cut jaws for the part and very low RPM.
    Last edited by squirrel; 03-08-2011, 09:48 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by tlfamm
      Poster Westline has some images showing a fairly substantial (?) off-center rotating mass mounted in a lathe chuck:

That doesn't seem to have been a problem for him - but what are some rough guidelines of speed and mass in off-center turning (beyond: keep it small; keep it slow)?

I was a bit scared to do this but it worked fine.
      Just to give you a idea of the size and speed the material was a 50mm long piece of 80mm mild steel round bar.
      I tested on 125rpm . The of set was 15mm long brass round bar.
      The hole I bored was 16mm ID.
      Keep in mind, be very careful when you do this I had images of the thing popping out and crushing my foot running throught my head the whole time while doing this.
      If you are using violence and it does not work, You are not using enough or it is upside down.
      You can always just EDM it...

Comment

Originally posted by tlfamm