follow rest use

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• follow rest use

i dont quite grasp the working of the follow rest from what i understand it supports the part of the work that is being worked so it needs to be readjusted at every cut ? or did i miss something here please enlighten me

Yes to the re-adjustment every cut. As best I know it is used for light and long pieces of material to prevent deflection.

I am currently working with some water pipe and have to back off the follow rest when it gets to the shoulder of the cut near the head stock.

Comment

i see sounds like it would be used but rarely as it would be very time consuming how would it be used in threading for example ?

Comment

I have no experience in using the follow rest in threading but believe it would function thr sme but might need tightening as the thresds wear groves. I adjusted mine at the start of each cut and backed the individual bars out as the lathe continued cutting. I do have a guide that uses an "L" shape and yes that would be more time consuming.

Comment

threading would keep a constant OD beween cuts.

The point of the follow rest is this.. Consider turning a 10" long peice thats 1/4" in diamiter.. Without a tailstock no less.

If you try and cut such a long slender peice, it will just deflect away. Maybe ride up ontop of the tool, bend, and start whiping around dangeriously.

Its also useful for other weak/long objects, Like say you wanna work near the end of a 20" long, 2" OD thin wall pipe. Its too big to fit through the hole in your headstock, So you gotta have it sticking out from the chuck.