Poor Surface Finish

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Poor Surface Finish

I'm new to using bulletin boards so if I am not following the rules correctly let me know and I'll adjust.

I recently bought a used Enco 12 x 36 lathe model number 110-2072 built in 1989. This is a Taiwanese machine, not mainland China. Before making the puchase I ran it in several speeds with the longitudinal and cross feeds engaged. It ran quiet and smooth. I was not able to make a trial cut because the tool post was missing. The lathe is in good physical condition as there is no noticeable wear on the ways or cross slide gibs. And the paint is in relatively good condition for its age. For info the lathe was mounted on a wood bench and has the original 1-1/2 HP Chinese motor wired for 110V and mounted it on a Harbor Freight metal lathe stand with vibration isolator type pads.

The problem I have is the gear noise is now much louder and the surface finish is poor. I attribute the increased gear noise to the metal stand. The tool bit curls a nice chip but the surface has a spiral pattern. I've checked the spindle bearings with an indicator while prying lightly radially and axially on the chuck. There is virtually no detectable movement. I visually inspected the headstock and change gears and they look to be in good condition and changed the idler change gear bearings because they were a little rough. The head stock oil was drained and refilled with Mobil DTE Medium/Heavy spindle oil.

Before spending a lot of money replacing the headstock bearings I'd like to get feedback on what is causing the poor surface finish. Could the problem be in the apron gear train? How about the change gear mechanism?

Thanks in advance for helping solve my problem.

Tom S.
    Tom S. in Hollister, California