Surface Grinder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surface Grinder

I have a couple of questions. This has been in storage for about 20 years and not used during that period. It's Sharp model SG 618, 3 phase, 2 HP. I have 3 phase at my home, so that isn't a problem. I know nothing about surface grinders, nor even what you use them for. Can you tell me what a homeshop machinist might use one for? What would be a fair price for it? I am first in line.

Thanks,
    -SD:
    Last edited by Smokedaddy; 03-21-2011, 11:18 PM.

I'm no expert and not too valuable on what you would pay for one like that but you can make all sorts of things with surface grinders. They put a very nice and accurate finish on what you are grinding. Parallels or things needing to be parallel, 1,2,3 blocks, imagination is the limit. With the right fixtures you can grind tooling. You would need to get a magnetic chuck that is the size of the grinder (6x18). Can be had from cheap import to expensive fine pole.

Comment

Hi,

Well, you can use them to make really flat and accurate paperweights.

Surface grinders are used to make things to really tight tolerances. When I reach for one, I'm generally looking for less than .0005" accuracies.

They excel at machining hardened materials. With the right fixture you can grind accurate profiles for punches.

Don't know much about Sharp grinders. Mostly I've used Cincinnati Milicron and Harigs. With a couple of old Nortons tossed in. Oh, and a Nicco 12x24 also.

Things to look for in this style, bad motors and bad spindles. The motors aren't to bad to fix, but the rest of the spindle will get to be expensive. And mostly they end up in storage because the spindles go bad and the machine will no longer produce the accurate surfaces expected in a commercial shop. Will it be good enough for a home shop? Maybe, maybe not. Depends on what you expect out of it.