New Guy needs advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Guy needs advice

My name is Bob and I live in Idaho and build Flintlock rifles as well as furniture. I have a rather large shop and it is too well tooled. I am self taught in about everything I do and have a fair library to learn from.
    My latest plan is to update an old Logan metal lathe I bought several years ago. It was a real deal! It is also been distroyed by a guy who tried to rebuild it. Please understand I am in no way a production shop as I only use the Lathe once or twice a month on small projects. I would love to have an American made machine but the cost is out of the question and I am not smart enough to buy used. As I learned the hard way! I am looking at a Grizzly G4003G machine. I think it is plenty of machine for my needs and it will fit in my shop. I have some other Grizzly wood working machines and they are of fair quality. Metal working my be another story. Any advice or opinions will be appreciated. Thanks, Bob

How did he "destroy" it. That would take some work? Grind the ways with a disc grinder.

Comment

Fairly new to metalworking myself...

But I've got a 30 year old Grizzly 12x24 belt drive that I bought used, it's been a very good machine for my needs. I also have several Grizzly woodworking machines, and I've been very happy with all of them, enough that I also just bought a brand new Grizzly 0619 mill. I got lucky buying a used lathe, but on the mill, I knew I was in the same boat as you, I didn't know enough to buy a used machine. I'd say go for it, by all accounts, it's a good machine for the money. Later.

Dave

Comment

I have a rather large shop and it is too well tooled.
        I can help you out on that score. I have an F250 and Idaho isn't that far from here. What would you like me to haul away?
        Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment