Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Turning a part with shoulders at each end?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turning a part with shoulders at each end?

Hi folks,

I'm pretty new to operating a lathe and this weekend had to turn a part with a shoulder at each end, where the gap between shoulders was only about 35mm long, and the height of the flange/shoulder was about 8mm (35mm large diameter, 27mm small diameter).

I thought about different ways of doing this and briefly experimented with plunging a RH turning tool into the workpiece, but given the small space available and the large depth of the shoulder it was obvious this was going to be a right faff on - Awkwardly plunging the tool and trying to turn to diameter then switching to a LH tool and repeating? Especially as my turning tool has a good 10-12mm wide tip, it barely fitted into the gap.

In the end I turned the piece without the shoulder on one side then made a push-fit one... But this took a while.

Just wondering how this would normally be solved, should I have made two recesses with a parting tool and then ground a 'thin' turning tool? Could I have ground a tool which could turn both ways?

The lathe is an 8x14 mini thing.

Cheers for any advice.

You did not state what material. Me... I'd Use a parting tool... or grind some HSS into a grooving tool.

I'm sure others will be along shortly to give their view.
    Wow... where did the time go. I could of swore I was only out there for an hour.

Comment

If you wish to insure concentricity of all diameters you center drill both ends and turn between centers switching ends to do the other diameter. You need a lathe dog, either manufactured or home made. Sounds like you need to do some reading as this is one of the old time basc methods. Peter
      The difficult done right away. the impossible takes a little time.

Comment

I made a tool that does right and left hand cutting at once