Belt Grinder shock problem solved

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Belt Grinder shock problem solved

I'll admit that the technical expertise needed probably exceeds most of those on this forum and the cost is heart stopping, but I will offer my solution to static electricity shocks from a belt sander anyway. I took a length of 14 ga. stranded wire and soldered an alligator clip on one end, and one of those large paperclips on the other. I sprung the paperclip a bit and stick it on my ear, with the alligator clip on something grounded. Works great.

Or you could ground the frame of the belt grinder.
    Steve

Comment

I'm not an electrical expert myself but I would have thought that electrically connecting yourself to the machine meant that if a fault did develop you would be more likely to get a shock rather than less.
      In addition to that if the machine is not properly grounded (which I read as an implication of Steve's post) by making that electrical connection, you are the path to earth.

Michael

Comment

The problem Horst solved involved draining the difference of electrical potential between the belt and sander and his body. While sanding, an excess of electrons are building up on the sander or on Horst. by connecting the grounding wire between himself and the machine, the electrons drain away as they are created, preventing a shock.

Clipping the electrode to the ear conjured images of Frankenstein and electric chairs in my mind.
        Weston Bye - Author, The Mechatronist column, Digital Machinist magazine
        ~Practitioner of the Electromechanical Arts~

Comment

You got it Weston; everything is properly grounded - except me. That is the point. Ground - good : shock - bad

Comment

Originally posted by Weston Bye