flat bar bender progress

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• flat bar bender progress

Most of the mechanical work is done on this project. Here's a few pics of it as it is now.

[IMG][/IMG]

A close up of one side showing the guide which keeps the bottom die plate perpendicular to the uprights

[IMG][/IMG]

A close up of one of the spring retainers. I have a range of about 2 inches by pulling the pin and repositioning the retainer on each side. When the bottom die is higher up for bending flat bar, these will be set higher. When the upper and lower bending dies are removed, there's about 5 inches of space that I can use for different pressing operations. These retainers will then be set lower. I don't want to stretch the springs, nor add too much to the pressure required from the jack when bending, although that would be so minimal by comparison as to be inconsequential.

[IMG][/IMG]

A close up of the upper die. I have a 60 degree V on it at present, and I stopped the milling with about a sixteenth of flat left on the bottom edge. I subsequently rounded that over by drawfiling, then sanding a little. I'm not sure if that is 'sharp' enough, but that's my starting point. I could have kept the angle down to about 50 degrees, which would have left a bit more strength at the edge, but again, we'll see how this works.

[IMG][/IMG]