I need a bender.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need a bender.

I need to bend some 2" wide .250" 5052 AL into a U shape with 2 90* angles the legs of the U will be longer than the middle section so my press brake will not work. What would be the best type bender to buy to make these bends this is something that I will be making a lot of but probably no more than 50 parts at a time so I don't mind a hand bender. I was thinking a compact bender like HF sells but I have never used one before. With that type bender is it easy to make precision bends and easily repeatable?

Thanks Mike
    Last edited by gundog; 07-09-2011, 05:11 AM.

Originally posted by gundog
    I was thinking a compact bender like HF sells... With that type bender is it easy to make precision bends and easily repeatable?
    Not really, but you can improve it by fabricating some kind of stops.
    Mike
    WI/IL border, USA

Comment

I've got that bender, and I would say it's "adequate" for minor home shop fab projects. Used it on my buggy, making stuff like my gates, lots of little projects. But if you're looking at something like repeating 50 piece runs, and a money making shop, I would be looking at a real Hossfeld (similar to the HF compact bender) or similar better quality units. I remember seeing one really nice, much heavier bender. Don't recall the name, but it was a major player like Diacro(?) or the like.
      Russ
      Master Floor Sweeper

Comment

Why not just make a special punch and die set? Would be very simple to do.

Comment

What Baddog said. Hossfeld or Diacro #2 or #3 bender will do the trick. I think Northern Tool or Grizzly might sell knockoffs of the Hossfeld.

Comment

Originally posted by Boostinjdm
            Why not just make a special punch and die set? Would be very simple to do.