Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Teaching Machine Shop From Home - Opinions?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Teaching Machine Shop From Home - Opinions?

I have been a machinist, shop supervisor and teacher of machine shop technology for what seems like forever and I've looked forward to retirement, primarily for the freedom from having to march to the beat of other drummers; but, as I approach retirement I know I will miss it too. You can't do something for an entire career and then suddenly turn it off. I've run a part time business from my home in the past but this too made me a slave to deadlines and agendas set by others and I would prefer to skip going that route again.

I've gotten a great deal of satisfaction from teaching shop courses and my students have always been very complimentary in voicing their appreciation of my teaching method. As a result I've been considering teaching machine shop (basically lathe and mill) from my home but I have no idea of what I'd be getting into so I thought I would tap the brain bank here at HSM for some opinions. I've already considered liability and intend to check with my lawyer about the value of liability waivers ect.

My course would be targeted at newcomers to machine shop who wish to learn the fundamentals of using a lathe and mill or to intermediate level students who just want to sharpen their skills. A full blown course would cover everything but individual sessions dealing with one particular shop technique would also be possible, so opinions from HSM newbies would be particularly helpful, but of course I would be very grateful for any and all opinions.

Thanks in advance !