One for the knife makers - handle riveting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• One for the knife makers - handle riveting

In the everlasting task of pursuing domestic harmony, I have another task that will keep me on the straight and narrow and help justify the investment in my shop.

We have a number of kitchen knives on which the handles appear to have been riveted with some form of Aluminum alloy.
    After frequent cleaning in the dishwasher, the rivets are being "eaten away" and the handles are getting loose.

I would like to replace these with brass rivets, which should be "dishwasher proof".
    Is there any particular grade of brass I should be looking for? Any hints or tips on setting the rivets?

I did do quite a bit of riveting with aluminum when I was an apprentice some 30 years ago, but I haven't done any since.

Thanks

Stuart

I just use regular 360 alloy brass(which seems to be he main alloy available).

You should never wash them in hot water at all.
    it takes the edges off .

Comment

Cutler's rivets come in different lengths, but the heads are all the same diameter. I made my counterbore from a wood screw set thingy drill (sorry for the technical talk, sometimes I just can't help myself) I got my rivets from Indian Ridge Traders which was bought out by Koval Knives which was purchased by Jantz Supply. Leave enough room in the hole for the rivet to swell and not split the handle material, and pick the rivet closest to the finished length and all should be well.
      I'm here hoping to advancify my smartitude.

Comment

Lee valley is were I get mine they had a number of lengths etc. leevalley You might try woodcraft since they sell the stepped rivet drill for their knife kits.
        Glen
        Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
        I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!