This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• O2 is flammable - true or false?

I'm reading through a welding book last night and the author states that pure oxygen is flammable.

What say you?

O2 by itself no, but combustion without it is not possible. The more O2 the more violent the fire..Oxy/acetylene cutting is a good illustration of this.

Comment

No

Okay, I will bite. Oxygen is not flammable. It is an oxidizer and not a fuel. It is highly reactive and supports combustion. There are a large number of oxides that form when a wide variety of materials, elements react with it. Iron easily burns in the presence of pure oxygen so iron is a fuel and it is flammable in the presence of oxygen.

gordon

Comment

You you should state the authors name so others can avoid wasting money on the book his initials wouldn't be R.F. would they.
        Glen
        Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
        I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!
        All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or the suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

Comment

No pure element is flammable by itself. It requires at least two elements to make a chemical compound via an exothermic reaction.
          Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

I'd say it's time to get a new book.

Are you still reading that same book?
            Not trying to be be negative, but did the answers not sit right with you the last time you asked this question?
            http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/showthread.php?t=14706

Like I said, I'm not here to jump on anybody, just wondered what I'm missing.
            Home, down in the valley behind the Red Angus
            Bad Decisions Make Good Stories​

Comment

I say it is flammable.