Acme Tap, help required ***Warning machining content

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Acme Tap, help required ***Warning machining content

I am trying to make an Acme Tap to make some Delrin nuts. Yes I have read about the alternate methods. But I want to try this one out for comparison.

Using some leadscrew material. 1/2" Acme. I have a 10 degree taper on the lead-in

I have made it into 3 flutes using a 1/8? Ball nosed mill

When I try to tap it will not feed into the material. It will go for a bit then will not feed. I am tapping by hand in lathe with tap in tailstock and winding by hand. Some firm pressure to start.

I assume the issue is that I need to make the grooves bigger as I think there is too much material left on the tap.

I would have made the grooves bigger but could not find a larger Ball nosed mill handy.

Or I guess I could put some relief on the tap with a grinder.

I have tried a couple of different diameter holes and and at 0.401" and still no better

Thanks
    Dave

You need to relieve behind the cutting edges.

As it is, all you're doing is rubbing.

Take a very close look at a commercially made tap and you'll see what needs to be done.

Comment

Yes, the flutes need to be bigger in relation to the size of the tap - be worth buying a cheap ball nose to do the job. This is an M8 tap I did

http://richontools.com/index.php?mai...ex&cPath=15_59

Last edited by Tel; 10-16-2011, 06:57 PM.
      Tel

Comment

OK,I do need to find or buy a bigger Ball mill. None of my tooling suppliers are open today. :-(

How many flutes is yours?
        Did you have to grind any relief?
        What material did you tap?

Thanks
        Dave

Comment

Dave,

take a look at this picture and see how you need to position your cutter.

Please not this is for a Left Hand tap so you need the cutter to the right of centre.

Sir John , Earl of Bligeport & Sudspumpwater. MBE [ Motor Bike Engineer ] Nottingham England.

Comment

Thanks John,