Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So I got a VFD...

Hi guys,

I've bitten the bullet and purchased a 3 phase motor and VFD for my mill/drill.

The mill/drill is an RF30 clone.

Haven't installed the motor or VFD yet, and I'm wondering what others have set their VFD's up to do.

The VFD is a Transtecno TT100 series unit. Heaps of stuff that can be set, but I doubt I'll need anywhere near all the features.

So, what's useful to set this thing to do?

Obviously run/stop and forward/reverse. But what else would be useful?

I've never used a VFD before, so I'm looking for ideas and advice.

Thanks in advance fellas.

Best regards
    Mark

Off the top of my head:

Well, on mine, there is a setting for TEFC style versus other style cooling, having to do with how much torque the motor can develop at lower percentages of rated power. The higher torque setting is nice if you the motor can handle it.

Based on the motor, you might be able to set an overload condition where the VFD will stop trying to turn the motor. This is probably a good idea.

An emergency stop would be nice, if enabled.

Also, you probably can set lower and upper frequency, which will correspond to lower and upper speed of the motor. The upper speed does NOT have to match the upper plate speed.

On many, the display can be frequency or RPM, I have found RPM more useful than frequency.

Make sure you set the input power correctly (e.g. 110 or 220) correctly before powering up.

There may be a setting for how to reverse. You might want to set it to "require a stop before reversing" to protect your mill.

I feel like I am still missing something important though...
    Hemi-proprietor,
    Esoteric Garage

Comment

Originally posted by Tait
      I feel like I am still missing something important though...
      Potentiometer (or speed increase/decrease buttons) to adjust speed on the fly.

Comment