1/2" holes in .120 304 ss

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1/2" holes in .120 304 ss

I've got some 500+ holes to put in .12 stainless and it occurs to be a 135 split point may not be the best way to go. Or maybe it is? Anyone wit advice?

Originally posted by Horst
    ......a 135 split point may not be the best way to go.
    Why do you say that? Are you thinking of an alternative method to drilling?

Assuming the holes are to be drilled, rather than some other method e.g. punch, etc., I would think an aggressive approach is called for in a work hardening material like 304 SS. A 135 split point would be doing more cutting, and less rubbing than a 118 degree chisel point, or so I would think.

I'm no expert; I'm just basing my comments on what I've perceived as the conventional wisdom. If I had doubts I'd probably make some trial holes.
    Lynn (Huntsville, AL)

Comment

304 Ss

The trick to running 304 is to never let it heat up, even a little. What mainly generates heat is spindle speed and dull tools. I would run solid carbide drills with 2 straight flutes and flood coolant. You can probably get through the job with 5 or 10 of those. For spindle speed, experiment with 200 to 500 RPM. You will find that even at 200 or 300 RPM the drill will sink right through fairly quickly. You can use a Cobalt or coated twist drill, but the flanks right above the corner will wear quickly, causing heat and friction.
      Kansas City area

Comment

If it's flat sheet send it to a fab shop with a CNC punching machine or laser. It'll be easier and cheaper than trying to do it yourself.

If you need to do it yourself use a Rotabroach type tool with coolant and low rpm. Keep in mind you need the low rpm!!!!!! Lower rpm than a drill press will do.

Drilling stainless sheet with any form of conventional drill is difficult. The material is work hardened from the mill (unless you can buy fully annealed material).