pick up storage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• pick up storage

I am a plumber by trade and I was wondering if anyone has a clever way of storing stuff in their pick ups. i find I spend more time cleaning and looking for stuff than I actually work. I would like to make some toolboxes to keep my stuff more organized , maybe shelves or clever slide out racks.Anyone got any ideas?

My buddys truck had those pull out racks that I think would slide at least 6' out in a longbox and drawers underneath. Canopy covered it all of course.......
    Opportunity knocks once, temptation leans on the doorbell.....

Comment

I have been thinking about building a slide out drawer or platform for the bed of my pickup. I have one of those hard covers on the bed of my PU. After a lot of searching I found this site: http://www.extendobed.com/features/assemblycloseup.asp IF you go to Extendo bed, then Frame assembly and then click on the .exe file it will download a Solid Works drawing the will pretty much give you enough information to build one.. The Solid Works drw. gives you the ability to rotate and zoom in on the parts.

I would rather have tools that I never use, than not have a tool I need.
      Oregon Coast

Comment

I'm a carpenter, and work out of an explorer.

Rear seats were removed and I built storage boxes in place of them, pop-in backs for more seating room when needed. Front seats have storage drawers built under them.

I installed side storage boxes below floor level for storing the jack, come-alongs and other oddball stuff that I didn't need to keep super handy.

in the rear, I cut out the floor just inside the hatch and installed a stainless steel sink, used the floor cut-out to make a cover for it, (cover the hole with a couple of perforated floor drain covers) I keep stuff I need all the time, but only when actually working in there, nails extension cords etc.