Ball bearing Jacobs chuck

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ball bearing Jacobs chuck

I have a need to turn 3/8 bolt shafts. At this time, I am center drilling the head for the live center, turning the desired shape and then cutting the head off.

I have a thought that I can save time and production steps if I had a Jacobs (or other drill) chuck in the tail stock that was mounted on bearings, so it rotates as does a live center. I could then cut the heads off with the saw, mount and true the bolt in the head stock, grab the free end in the rotating chuck to act as a live center and proceed with my turning to shape.

Any comments, suggestions or otherwise are desired.

Pops

Sorry, but I'm having a real hard time imagining what it is that you are doing. Have you a better description of the process and/or sketch of the part?

I have a lot of experience in running machines with pick-off spindles and back-working tools, if that's what you are describing. Is that what you are looking to do?

How many parts to do over what length of time, and how much do you get for them? This all helps define how you should do them.
    Last edited by PixMan; 12-17-2011, 05:08 PM.

Comment

If your going to that much work, why not use a 2 1/2 or 3" scroll chuck instead of mounting a drill chuck? A lot more versitility and the cost of the chuck would be about the same as a middle of the road drill chuck.
      (about $55.00 for a 3" 3 jaw chuck from Grizzly)
      They are available ready made too, but they're spendy (500.00!)
      Here's a link to a ready made and it shows a cutaway drawing too:
      http://www.use-enco.com/CGI/INPDFF?PMPAGE=484&PMCTLG=00
      Last edited by Scottike; 12-17-2011, 05:10 PM.
      I cut it twice, and it's still too short!
      Scott

Comment

If I understand your posting correctly, why not make an adapter that is socketed on one side to accept the bolt shaft and the other side slips over the end of a live center?

Comment