Feeling Guilty?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Feeling Guilty?

I'm new at most of this but learning & trying to set up the best shop I can & then I read this article about Paul Kuhni & what amazing things he created with the barest of tools. WOW! It's amazing! Here's the link. Hope it works. http://www.homeshopmachinist.net/sho...oredirect=true
    "Let me recommend the best medicine in the
    world: a long journey, at a mild season, through a pleasant
    country, in easy stages."
    ~ James Madison

In one of his Bedside Readers, Guy Lautard tells of a man that builds working guns, whatever he's interested in, with files. I'll see if I can find it. What I remember is he has LOTS of files ground into many profiles with safe edges. Found it, in the first one about 100 pages in called 'Gun Making'. He also has a wood lathe, but works mostly with hacksaws and files.
    Last edited by gizmo2; 12-20-2011, 12:58 AM.
    I'm here hoping to advancify my smartitude.

Comment

I saw a youtube on the arms trade in Pakistan. It's amazing what they can make by hand. 20+ years ago you had to be careful on 45 Autos that it wasn't a homade chinese copy from WW2. They would make them out of any steel & copy all the marks & names. Then they were worthless now they have collector value. If they can make working AKs by hand I can learn to make anything on the tools I'm gathering (with the help of you guys) but before I ask I'll think of Paul & the Pakistans & how would they do it. You can't teach common sense.
      ~ James Madison

Comment

In our shop, we're used to seeing instruments hand made with little or no tooling. Most of that stuff is wood, of course, but every so often we get an example of Third World metal work, like these geared tuners, strictly hand filed and fitted on a Mexican guitarron:

Cheers,

Frank Ford
        HomeShopTech

Comment

Originally posted by Frank Ford