Bobcad any happy users?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bobcad any happy users?

Bobcat has been trying to self me there software, their reputation as a hardcore sell pitch is an understatement that said is anyone happy with it? . I have zero experience with any software so I have nothing to compare to if its good or bad, I just want to dive in and start to learn how to design things on the computer. And one day get into cnc machining thanks for any input Bill.

Well, since you claim zero experience with any software package and have no immediate need for cnc machining, why not download SketchUp and give that a try?

Steve

Comment

Bobcad will seem great after using sketchup.

Bobcad is not terrible software. It just aint that great either. But for $300 to $400, which you can get it for if you wait out their sales guys, its not that bad.

Comment

Why would anyone use a Bobcat for machining?
        How to become a millionaire: Start out with 10 million and take up machining as a hobby!

Comment

Bobcat? Is sketchup free? Or is it a demo?

Comment

I took me 6 months to get the sales person to quit calling. I found it to be a substandard product.

Comment

Originally posted by Black Forest
              Why would anyone use a Bobcat for machining?
              That's for if you don't have a shaper and need to rough off a lot of material.

Comment

Strange timing on this thread... I was "playing" with it last night. I have the full lathe and milling package (V23)- waiting for me to spend the commitment of time required to learn how to use it. The CAD portion is full featured and once you learn it can do pretty much anything; the CAM looks decent, but that's where I see the major time sink.