Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R8 Question

NooB here...........

Are all R8 shank arbors the same? I see ones on Ebay that say Bridgeport, yet are some other manufacture.

I have an old Rockwell mill I am slowly gathering tooling for.

Thanks, Dennis

R8 Tooling

All R8 tooling is theoretically the same. The only difference is in the quality of manufacture or degree of care or abuse. I have a lot of R8 tooling and it all works fine. I don't buy any used tooling unless it looks really good. There are a lot of collets and shanks that have been tightened down on chips or spun in the spindle or rusty etc.
    Kansas City area

Comment

I'll say they are all the same. When holding an end mill in the collet they are at best a compromise. If I had a nickel for every operator that had an end mill suck out of an R-8 collet I'd be a rich man.
      Forty plus years and I still have ten toes, ten fingers and both eyes. I must be doing something right.

Comment

Not to hijack Dennis' post, but I've got a popular 3/8" R8 collet with a piece
        of broken endmill in it.

Like spin says, at some point it walked its way out and snapped. Theres
        maybe 1/2" of it trapped in that no-mans-land between the threads and
        the collet ID. Have been using it find, but bothers me that its in there.

Any tricks to getting it out? lost cause?

Tony

Comment

R8 Collet

Hi Tony -

Get a round magnet 3/8 or smaller that will slide into the threaded end of the collet. Get the piece of shank on the magnet and lined up with the hole and pull it out the threaded end which is bigger than 3/8. Maybe if you shake it around with the threaded end down it will fall out by itself without a magnet.
          Kansas City area

Comment

Spread the collet open with screwdrivers in the three gaps should help you get the broken shank out. Obviously don't spread it too far.

Comment

Originally posted by Spin Doctor