Sketchup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sketchup

Before I download Google Sketchup and sink a bunch of time in it, does Sketchup have any practical purpose?

As in, will it make drawings of basic parts and dimension them for a Cam program... Curious, I see a few people using it. I guess im curious to see what everyone else is using it for
    Last edited by daveo; 01-20-2012, 05:01 PM.
    Feel free to put me on ignore....

I have been using Sketchup for a couple of months now and really like it. I use it for designing stuff I'm making, and then for printing out dimensioned drawings. I don't know if the free version will interface with CAM packages, but there are some others here who may know. One thing I will say, though, is that if you have previous experience with CAD packages, Sketchup is not at all intuitive. Once I got used to it, though, I was ecstatic about what all it could do with respect to its price (free). I bought a PDF book titled "Sketchup Guide for Woodworkers" from Taunton Press that saved me untold hours of frustration.

Comment

I use it all the time to produce method statements and sequence-of-work documents in demolition. For that, it's brilliant.
      Peter - novice home machinist, modern motorcycle enthusiast.

Denford Viceroy 280 Synchro (11 x 24)
      Herbert 0V adapted to R8 by 'Sir John'.
      Monarch 10EE 1942

Comment

The spider that I used in my fan assembly I posted a couple of days ago was drawn in Sketchup, exported to DXF, imported to CamBam and cut from aluminum on my CNC mill. Design time was a few minutes. I could have designed it in CamBam but Sketchup was faster and easier.